it is useless for high school students to spend studying literature that was written a long time ago

According to some people, it is useless for high school students to spend studying literature that was written a long time ago. Although there are some benefits to studying literature long-standing, I agree with this statement because learning older types of literature has more downsides. To begin with, literature taught at school tends to be outdated and irrelevant to our current reality. Most of the works and poems were written in the distant past and capture long-gone days and issues. Therefore, not much knowledge gained could be used for working purposes. Second, the majority of the students will pursue higher studies in order to become doctors, engineers or business people and thus, they will forget the literature which they learned at high school. Hence, the effort of teaching literature to high school students is futile. Besides, it is undeniable that studying literature has some benefits for high school students. Studying literature can give students a deeper insight into their country's history and culture. For example, many short stories such as " Chị Dậu'', "Lão Hạc" and many similar works written in the revolutionary era depict the daily sufferings the common people endured under the French and American colonialism. But the problem is that when reading these classics, Vietnamese pupils can not feel the poor living conditions in these historical periods. Perhaps now it is different from the past, so students can not fully feel the values that the works want to convey. In conclusion, although some people may think literature is a necessary subject, i still argee with this statement because learning literature long-standing has more downsides for high school students.