It is the duty of governments to protect children's health by fighting obesity. The government should implement laws against sugary drinks and fast food restaurants and take other measures as well.

There is nowadays a growing concern regarding obesity, especially in youth. Accordingly, some people advocate governments ought to make laws against sugary drinks and fast food establishments as well as take other steps to fight against obesity and protect children's well-being since it is their responsibility. I believe, however, that it is a parents' and schools' duty to educate children about this issue because teens spend more time at home and school. As teens consider their parents' role model, it is a parents' responsibility to teach their offsprings about a healthy diet as well as about their well-being. This is because not only do children spend more time with their parents, and they often copy their parents' actions so, if parents eat unhealthy food, their offsprings surely eat the same food. Take an example of parents who consume pizza with high calories every day, and their kids thus think of it as regular healthy food, thereby consuming it as well, so children often inmate the habits of parents and will do same in the future. In order to keep children healthy, parents should eat healthily. Hence, it is a parents' duty to protect children's health, not the government. Furthermore, schools can also educate their pupil about their health since children spend 7 to 8 hours in school. Having a physical education course in school makes children more conscious about their well-being. In conclusion, taking care of children health is not a governments' duty, but it is a parents' and educational institutions responsibility to make children aware of their health.