It is sometimes said that people who think only about themselves are happier because they get what they want. Others say that selfish people have no friends and are usually lonely. Why do you think some people act selfishly? Is it good to be selfish?

There are pros and cons when it comes to the topic related to being selfish. Even though sometimes it seems like those who are self-centred take more benefits, many open-minded and heartwarming people tend to be successful, not to mention they could get what they are anxious to in the end. Firstly, when we are selfish and do not give what others like, it is true that we might have more than we do not. This is the reason why there are some people who are selfish, and it seems that they think it is the best way to live a life. For example, if they are eager to chocolate in a poor condition, which means nobody can be sure whether everyone can get it, they believe that it is the only way to keep it secret rather than sharing it with others. Secondly, it is undeniably true that there are still more advantages to being not selfish even though it appears that we are losing somehow at first. In other words, even in any desperate situation, once we tend to help others and give up what we need for someone's needs, then obviously there would be more opportunities for us in the end. For instance, there are famous stories related to the survivors from the extreme cold or hot conditions by taking care of each other. It was possible for them to live together by willingly sharing the scarce food and water rather than hiding them. To sum up, though there are some people who think being selfish is the most efficient way to live their life, in order to make a better life, it is highly considered to be social beings by distributing and yielding what we have for someone since it brings more advantages in the long run.