It is quite right that top sports people should be paid a lot of money.

It seems indisputable that top sports people are often paid huge salaries. Many people feel these salaries are paid in return for a fairly small contribution to society. However, in order to decide whether this situation is right or not, we need to consider other factors and not solely the remuneration paid to these sports people. On the face of it, it seems that certain top sports people earn enormous sums of money for doing something they enjoy and for doing something which does not contribute greatly to our society. For example, if we compare these salaries to the top salaries of doctors or nurses, we would see a huge difference. It seems to be this kind of comparison which, for many people, highlights the unfairness of this situation. On the other hand, the fact that people enjoy their work and the fact that they are paid much more than people in other professions is largely irrelevant. In addition, in this case, what some people see as a small contribution to society may not, in reality, be so small. Consider for example, the income and the employment which some top sports people create. While we can see that they are benefiting personally, the economy is also benefiting. We should also not forget that these people are role models for young people, and the not-so young, not only in sport but in other areas of life, too. This contribution is clearly impossible to measure, but clearly valuable. In conclusion, while it is easy to understand why the salaries of top sports is often criticised, we need to keep in mind the bigger picture and the contributions to society they make including tangible contributions to the economy as well as intangible contributions they make as role models.