It is impossible to always be completely honest with your friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Lying to a friends is one of the most indispensable habits for every person in this world. It is a trait that we have been inheriting from our ancestors, according to a book named " Humans and their lies" wriiten by renowned author Yival Noah Harari. Research also suggest that we learn such activites from our environment. I, personally believe that not lying to an acquaintance is next to impossible. I will provide three reasons in support of this by elaborating each one of them in the following paragraphs. First of all, sometimes, friends lie to each other in order to make them happy. The concern they have for one another makes them lie. In other words, everyone experiences dispirited or disheartened situations in their life. Friends might lie, in good faith, in such situations to cheer them up. However, this type of consolation does fall under the umbrella of dishonesty. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Few years back, during the first month of my final year of college, we had various companies visiting our institution foe hiring students. As I knew this would happen, I had prepared very well. The placement process entails an exam, to shortlist students based on their score, followed by 2-3 interviews depending on the company. There was a company named Apple that had visited during the first week of the placement drive. I was very confident of getting hired in august company. Even my friends were thinking the same. Although, I had topped the exam, I did not get the job. Consequently, in order to bring me out of this utter dismay my friends had lied to me that I deserved better. Consequently, they had told many stories, to cheer me up and to make me determined to appear for the placement process offered by other companies. This is a case where friends make you believe platitude even though they are plain white lies. Secondly, friends also lie to each other due to pressure they receive from environment. Everyone has lied to their friends one time or other due to avoid homily from their parents. When a friend asks you for a night out, spend some more time with friends than stipulated by the parents, etc. , These lies are relatively little in magnitude nonetheless fall into the category of dishonesty. Another similar example is when a friend keeps his dating life secret. Even not disclosing some matter or revealing this information to few in the groups can be marked as dishonesty. Finally, all the above mentioned contexts are harmless when executed. But there are cases where friends lie in bad faith. Such people appear friendly from appearance but they wish for our fallout. These hypocrites may deliberately lie to see our downfall. Being self-seeking also comes in this categoy. While the two-faced friendship might not last long but the other harmless types, as in case of consolation or mollifying a person, makes the bond more stronger. In conlusion, it is impossible to be completely honest to a friend. Most of people in this world, might have lied to his friend atleast once throughout his lifetime. The very task of being honest all the time itself is so hard that the idea of conceiving such thing is considered far-fetched. But the degree and purpose of lies defines the friendship in a positive or negative way.