It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is important for children to understand the concept of right and wrong that will design their personality as the behavior and character of a person are formed since childhood. Many people argue that punishment is necessary for children to learn appropriate behavior and values. I tend to agree with this opinion. In this essay, I will give the reasons and examples to support this statement. When teaching the concept of right and wrong to children, parents and teachers may initiate from do's and don'ts concept. It will be accepted more easily by the child's thinking. For example, when a child throws away food they don't like. We might say, "Dear, please don't waste food. " When they are reprimanded for doing something that is not allowed, then he knows that it is wrong. But we have to give concrete explanations, instead of lecturing them, just say, "That food was made by mama for you so that you are healthy and satisfy”. Furthermore, the greater the child's age, we will begin introducing them into the penalty when they are violating the terms that should never be. On the contrary, if they are obeying, we will be giving them a reward. From here they will learn about the concept of right and wrong. However, in giving punishment to children, it should be noted that there should be no physical punishment. A study from the University of New Orleans, USA, concluded that silence or give the kids time alone to reflect on their mistakes is the most effective punishment. Parents can talk to them and ask them why they did something wrong after that. In conclusion, personally, I think that punishments for children's wrongdoing can be done, but not with physical and mental violence. Also, teaching moral values to children will be absorbed more simply if we relate it to everyday life.