Some people think that you can never become fluent in a language unless you have spent time living in that country. To what extent do you agree?

It is often thought that, one will not become proficient with languages of a particular country without residing there. I completely disagree with this point of view, because today anyone can access knowledge in any part of the globe. Firstly, to be well-versed with certain languages one need not settle in a specific country. Today, with the advent of technology there are lots of online courses available on the internet. For example, YouTube offers various study materials and people sharing their content to the entire world. If one has to learn they can freely avail such resources. Also, with access to social media people can make friend with like-minded people across the world and they can freely communicate with each other in any language of their choice and they learn as well. Moreover, with globalisation movement of people of various nations are ever increasing. In such cases, most of the students today are taking 2nd or 3rd choice as foreign knowledge in their studies. To illustrate, a study conducted by secondary education board in India, as found 60% of the student are learning a foreign language in their school age and 45% of them are becoming expert to hold communication in those languages, with clearing additional exams. This shows with the help of peer group and tutor one can master the skills sitting at their home country as well. In conclusion, learning any new language, the person has to be willing and have ability to put an effort. There are a lot of people around the world today who can talk other languages without going to that country but knows it because they have invested time and energy to acquire it.