It is critical to help children to know the difference between what is allowed and what it is forbidden when they are young.

It is critical to help children to know the difference between what is allowed and what it is forbidden when they are young. Some beliveve that punishments are an esential tool it assisting children to understand the difference. In my opinion, punishments indeed play a crucial part in the education of children, however, the nature of the punishment is also very important. It is well known that punishment is a powerfull tool when it comes to help children undertanding how to diffrinciate between what is good and what is bad. Although verbal explainations may be usefull sometimes, there are many cases where only an act that shows the child that his behavioure has consequnces, such as punishment, may help. A recent study published in the American Journal of Education showed that children who didn't expereinced any consequences after negative behaviour tended to be involved in more negative conduct situations. As important as punishments are in education of children, it doesn't mean that every sort of punishment is beneficial or allowed. Punishments, whether they are being given by the care givers or teachers must not include any kind of violence, or to harm the physical or mental well being of the child. Any punishment given should be done out of respect to the child, and prefferably with some connection to the negative conduct he has been involved in (for example a child isn't allowed to watch TV since he didn't do his homework and now needs to complete them). In conclusion, I agree that punishments play a key role in education of children. However, they should always be done out of respect for the child and should never harm him in anyway.