It is a common belief that the reduction of the crime rate will be achieved more effectively through better education than placing criminals in jail.

It is a common belief that the reduction of the crime rate will be achieved more effectively through better education than placing criminals in jail. However, I firmly believe that prison in an effective method to reduce evil rate. And this essay will address the reasons for my views as follow. To begin with, in the view of some people, education and job training are suitable programs for lawbreakers. For example, the offenders who are teenagers should be sent to school because of a lack of general knowledge, so legal courses in school will help them to distinguish between the standard and unusual behaviours. Having some knowledge of the law, youngsters are better prepared to avoid situations which may involve them in crime. Beside, with the people who are misdemeanous, providing job training or educational programs allow them to find job. This may help them to integrate into the community and live a better life after finish their punishments. However, I would argue that the penitentiary is effective in dealing with offenders. Firstly, by keeping criminals, residents can have a safer life. In fact, if government still let offenders free, they will “who drinks will drink again”, the others will still in danger so that these people should be kept away from the community. Another reason is that person who commits a crime must learn that unlawful actions have consequences. For instance, murders, they must know that because of their bad action, they are behind bars and even death penalty. In conclusion, I believe that prison sentences are one essential weapon in the fight against crime, and I disagree that providing better education alone is a more effective solution to reduce the crime rate.