It has been claimed that workers over 50 are not responsive to rapidly changing ideas in the modern workplace and for this reason, younger workers are to be preferred.

Recent growth in technology has brought huge transformations to the modern workplace. It is often said that the modern workplace prefers younger professionals over older ones. I partially agree with the above statement and this essay will discuss my reasons. To begin, the older workers have major add-ons to the workplace. To elaborate, they are skilled, experienced, and have huge knowledge. Additionally, its often noticed that the loyal customers always feel comfortable around the experienced employees. To cite an example, E. Sreedharan also known as the Metro Man of India was appointed as the principal advisor for the Kochi Metro project in his late seventy’s. This project was completed over 4 years and now he is again appointed as the advisor for the Lucknow Metro project which is targeted to be completed within 3 years. However, with current advancements in technology, there exists uncertainty with regards to the near future. This change requires young professionals who are adaptive, always eager to learn and have a fresh point of view which helps any success-oriented workplace to move one step ahead. For instance, one of the studies conducted by the Oxford university depicts that, with the help of automation, over 60 percent of manual work has been identified and automated by younger professionals. To sum up, with all the above-discussed pointers its evident that having a mix of the two-generation group in a workplace helps both the parties with respect to learning which in turn, increases productivity and eventually paves the way for long term business success.