Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

Government investment enhances the infrastructure of the society. It is considered by some that investments in the arts, such as music and theatre, are a waste of money, instead these are to be invested in the public services. I partially agree with the above argument and this essay will discuss my reasons. To begin, there are several reasons why government expends a notable amount on public services. Firstly, investments in primary education. Education empowers people and transforms the way of living. Besides that, the future and advancement of the country depend on how children are educationally developed. Secondly, the government should also spend on healthcare as a healthy society paves the way for economic growth. For instance, based on the research conducted by Oxford University, it is been recorded that healthcare is one of the primary factors for people to migrate to another country. However, it is also important to invest money into the arts. To elaborate, the arts sector enhances the younger generation's critical thinking and imagination. Also, it plays a major role in preserving the cultural legacies and thereby, passing them to the future generation. Additionally, investing in arts is another way to generate money and it brings in various employment opportunities. To cite an example, the museum of modern art gallery has exhibited various creative artworks from a different era and was one of the major attractions that brings in over twelve percentage of international tourists to New York City. To sum up, allocating funds to both the public service and art sector has got significant benefits, as public service helps in economic growth to society, whereas arts play a vital role in preserving cultural heritage.