It Has Been Claimed That Workers Over 50 Are Not Responsive To Rapidly Changing Ideas In The Modern Workplace

It is argued that the current workplace demands more younger professionals than older workers because the latter are not adaptive to fast-changing ideas and technologies. I agree with this view to a great extent. While I do admit that young professionals are more comfortable with new technologies, they lack the experience and wisdom of their seniors and for this reason companies also need to retain at least some of their experienced employees. Workers over fifty years of age are considered the asset of an organization. Their vast experience not only adds value but also helps in the critical decision-making process. Apart from new ideas, every organization needs workers with hands-on experience and a deep understanding of industry specific issues. Thus, obviously, every organization needs at least some experienced senior employees. However, in this age of technology, experience alone will not suffice. Despite the enriched experience older workers have, the changing dynamics of today’s workplace demand young professionals. Today’s workplace witnesses an unprecedented change which is fast and requires quick adaptation. With the continuous technical advancement, high competition and a flooded market, an organization cannot take the risk of investing time in the training of its resources. Older professionals are habituated to and comfortable in their own style of work which is hard to change. On the other hand, young professionals are fresh hence they can be moulded to fit any style of working. For example, when the internet started ruling over the world, older workers found it very hard to adapt to this sudden change in the workplace. Hence, organizations quickly started taking young professionals who can easily work on computers. Overall, experience does have an advantage, but this fast-paced market needs young people who are more adaptive and flexible. In conclusion, this essay argued that in current market dynamics, an organization needs employees who are flexible and responsive to change; hence, young professionals are preferred over older workers. Having said that, it is still important to retain at least some senior employees in key decision making roles.