ISome people think it is important for parents to spend time reading or telling bed time stories to children, while others claim children can read through variety of sources such as e-books, TV and the internet by themselves.

In modern world, people are cynical about whether parents should read stories to their children or let children gain information through books, TV and movies by themselves. In my point of view, it is better method for children to obtain information through their own efforts. On the one hand, the outcomes of reding by parents can be very rewarding because it not only build the strong relationship between kids and parents but also children can gain the rightful sources of information that allows them to understand the goodness and evilness since internets deliver abundances information sometimes. To illustrate, when children are confused about information that read from internet, parents can provide children with detailed information so as to attain better understanding of knowledge and maybe foster the love of reading. The purpose of reading, however, is never to confined to acquire the knowledge or information. Despite this, children can improve their autonomy in information obtaining and since this process is self-paced they can develop their time management skills and personality such as self-improvement and persistence, all of which is beneficial for their future study and career. Additionally, a large number of parents are coped with busy work style which lead to not having adequate time for them to read books for their children. As a result, children who read themselves will gain not only gain enormous knowledge but also help less burden for parents who have limited time. To sum up, in modern competitive world, it is better for children to develop self -learning or reading in their childhood because it will enhance their time management and to build strong determination for long term although rewarding from parents reading acquire both emotional and instructional value.