Is watching TV enjoyable or just a waste of time

There is no doubt that with the development of TV it has become part and parcel of our life. A lot of people watch it daily, so they are of two minds about it. Some individuals claim that watching TV is good, others are convinced that not. In my essay I’m going to consider both views, pros and cons of this issue. As for me, I suppose that mostly it’s a waste of time. On the one hand, modern television has plenty of benefits, you can learn any Information starting from history and finishing with science. Moreover, there are even certain channels that are specialised for different topics, there are entertainment and education among them. It means that you can only turn on a TV set and study without being a bookworm. What is more, by watching news programs people can keep in touch with the latest events in the whole worn, as you can find not only channels of your region and country, but also foreign ones. Finally, it’s a great way to be a “globe trotter” without getting off the couch, you may see picturesque landscapes of France, snowy mountains of Switzerland, azure coasts of the Indian ocean and so on. If all people watched only educational and nature programs, it would be much better, but unfortunately they don’t. On the other hand, there is a huge number of useless programs that are shown on TV nowadays. Modern people are becoming coached potatoes the more, the more they are watching television. Also, it is laziness that forces us to stare at the TV set. It’s a bitter pillow to swallow, but most information shown in the news is false, especially about domestic and foreign policy. Some mass media channels can affect us, by giving us wrong information and different talk shows might develop an incorrect point of view by psychological factors. Furthermore, it can simply and easily become an addiction and a bad habit to watch TV during a meal. To sum up, television has its advantages and disadvantages, as each medal has its side. In my opinion, we should make viewing TV not a daily occupation or do it to reasonable limits and save our spare time for more significant things.