Is technology good for us or bad for us?

Everyone’s worried about smartphones. Headlines like “Have smartphones destroyed a generation? ” and “Smartphone addiction could be changing your brain” paint a bleak picture of our smartphone addiction and its long-term consequences. This isn’t a new lament—public opinion at the advent of the newspaper worried that people would forego the stimulating pleasures of early-morning conversation in favor of reading the daily. Is the story of technology really that bad? Certainly there’s some reason to worry. Smartphone use has been linked to serious issues, such as dwindling attention spans, crippling depression, and even increased incidence of brain cancer. Ultimately, though, the same concern comes up again and again: Smartphones can’t be good for us, because they’re replacing the real human connection of the good old days. Everyone’s heard how today’s teens just sit together in a room, texting, instead of actually talking to each other. But could those teenagers actually be getting something meaningful and real out of all that texting? The social problems presented by the computer are easy to see and understand according to some authors on the topic. However, why the computer has had the impact it has had must be addressed when fully comprehending all that the computer does to society. There are many characteristics which are considered factors in the social impact of computer technology. Technology is not value neutral, so to say, as it has been thought, but rather the computer and the advancement of technology contains grand adjustments to society that are far from neutral. Blaise W. Liffick, Ph. D. , in the department of computer science at Millersville University, argues there are twelve major characteristics of the social impact that has come about due to the computer. Some of Dr. Liffick’s characteristics include ubiquity, magnification, accessibility, reproducibility and distributability, lack of accountability, temporality, spatiality, and shifting of relationships/changes in intercommunication protocols. 7 Liffick uses the term ubiquity to express how computers appear basically everywhere in this modern day. Even when people do not encounter computers directly in modern convenience devices, “the utility companies are recording usage, the phone company records incoming calls, answering machine might be recording a message while we are doing something else, and someone is performing a credit check on us. ”8 Computers tend toward magnification in several different ways. “First, the explosion of the availability of information is due in large part to the computer's ability to generate, collect, and store an ever increasing amount of raw data. ”9 Data can be collected and synthesized at such a rapid pace that there is more time to divulge into the information and understand what lies beneath the surface. Information is accessible to an unprecedented number of people regardless of their location