Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society? (Question from: http: //www. ielts-exam. net/ielts_writing_samples_task_2/728/)

Expression of opinions is as necessary as oxygen is for survival in a liberated society which should be allowed with a maximum flexibility. These are the innovative thoughts and variety of perceptions, which contributes to make decision making processes more and efficient and fruitful. In my opinion, a social structure, where individuals are allowed to share their viewpoints regarding a range of issues, is far more progressive than others. Considering the significance of freedom to share thoughts, governments can feel the pulse of general public, as expectations and levels of satisfactions for its functioning will be openly communicated by the masses. In turn, it helps authorities to reconsider and mould their planning for present and future initiatives accordingly. Moreover, if citizens are free to raise their voice in favour or against issues, those will come in light and will be discussed thoroughly. Additionally, society as a whole, will also develop more, provided people are aware to use their fundamental right of freedom of speech. Consequently, when folks can exchange perceptions freely, most of the times, outcomes are really beneficial from such discussions. Besides this, in academic institutions, if students are encouraged to give a vocal form to their feelings and judgements, their thought processes get more polished. Undeniably, it is the integral part of a democratic establishment, where media houses can only work independently, when they are free from any kind of restrictions imposed on them. However, i do emphasis on the fact that, neither an individual nor an organisation should misuse this provision and their expression should not be biased, prejudiced and contribute negatively to the society. In that case, government should be strict enough to implement some kind of limitations on such rights. To conclude, people will feel suffocated if their very natural instinct of expression is withdrawn from them. Hence, this privilege should be there, however, strictly supervised.