School should start later in the morning What is your opinion

These days, going to school becomes a burden to students who are taking higher classes. For many of them, the lack of sleep every morning is the main reason why getting to school makes them tired. Some people believe that the best way to help students feel more excited for studying is to begin classes later in the morning. I completely agree with this idea and in this essay, I will support my view with examples. First of all, it is apparent that teenagers who attend class starting later in the morning are more likely to learn better because they are awake. It has been found that, adolescents’ internal clock - the circadian rhythms that control a human’s responses to stimuli and determine sleep patterns - operate differently than those of other age groups. It means that teens’ bodies are designed to go to sleep later and wake up later. Most of students studying with current schedule are lack of sleep. When the human body doesn’t get enough sleep the mind will not work as well. Studies also prove that a sleep-deprived person have a much shorter attention span and are more likely to forget new information easier and quicker. Therefore, shifting the schedule later in the morning can help teens to get a sufficient sleep, which results in a boost in attendance, test scores, grades in math, English, science, and social studies, as well as lower dropout rates and motor-vehicle accidents. Moreover, students staying far away from school don’t have to wake up too early to commute to school, so they can get more time to eat breakfast at home, which provides them more energy and spirit for lessons. Obviously, a later start times gives students much help to perform better during school day. Another common reason why school should implement later start times is because it assures a better psychological and physical development for adolescents. Researches have found that a teenager who sleep well enhances the body to absorb vitamin, nutrient better. For example, my younger brother’s sleep isn’t deep, he finds it hard to go to bed early and whenever he hears a strange sound in his room, he wakes up and hard to fall asleep again, that’s why he is very thin and small. Besides, many reports have shown that later starting schedule has positive impact on teens’ health. Significant risks including stress, anxiety, depression, even drugs and alcohol abuse are becoming fewer, and health of teens can be improved because the amount of using caffeine drinks such as coffe, soda may drop if students don’t have to get up too early. Because of these benefits, why shouldn’t school change start times into a later? On the other hand, many parents who disagree with a reset in academic clock may argue that it is hard for their children to arrange time for other activities such as playing sports, learning a hobby, . . . However, it is undeniable that if a pupil is tired because she doesn’t get a full sleep, she will not only find no concern in studying, but also get rid of other leisure interests. I believe that the adjust school time offer children a chance to learn how to order their activities effectively. Later schedule at school seems to realize this situation more effectively than another one. In conclusion, although many people think that early school day will be helpful to academic performance, examing and researchs about later start times proves otherwise. School beginning later provides children more time to sleep which increase their academic ability. It also help adolescents to thrive psychologically and physically. Personally, I believe that the implement in academic clock gives a child oppotunity to set up schedule in the best way, which is the basic of independence development.