Internet crime is increasing rapidly as more and more people are using internet to make financial transaction. What can be done to tackle this problem

Due to the rapid development of technology, it is a popular trend for people to make financial transaction online such as online shopping, food delivery or investment. People believes that this is one of the causes for the increasing number of internet crime. This following essay is going to provide suggestions to resolve this problem. From my perspective, I believe education is the key to reduce crime. This is essential to teach our next generation empathy, caring, rights, and obligations for them to understand the reasons why people should not undertake into any criminal activities online. For instance, seminars or advertisements shall be arranged frequently to raise awareness of the and the adverse consequences of committing crime, which is helpful for people to realise the drawbacks of internet crime. Furthermore, people should also be taught about how to protect themselves when using internet. When interest security becomes strong, there will be a great difficulty for people to commit crime related to internet. A good illustration is that it is rare for people to hack the computer of the government or FBI, which employed high level of internet security policy. This is because that would take a huge amount of time and effort before they can successfully hack into their system. Therefore, if people is careful and knowledgeable about how to protect themselves when making transaction online, there would be less loopholes for the criminal to hack, as such, the successful rate of internet crime will drop consequently. Last but not least, strict and tough regulation shall be introduced in order to create the deterrent effect that people would not risk their life for. It is suggested that the government to impose serious punishments such as heavy fines or sentence for a long term imprisonment. This would effectively threat the general public not to commit internet crime. To conclude, I believe that enhancing education, developing individual’s skills on internet safety and imposing harsh legislation are effective measures to prevent internet crime.