INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS THEORIES

It is widely argued among policy practitioners regarding how incomprehensible theories of International Relations are at elaborating political sphere. However, this essay will offer an array of usefulness that were underestimated by a number of scholars. As theories are helpful since they are not only wield to diagnose event, prescribe responses, analyse the root of causes on the contrary they can also evaluate the impact of various policies and help us determine whether policy should be implemented. Thereby, theories in International Relations are key features to understand why states act in certain ways and how to respond accordingly. Moreover, this literature will also contribute to other existing articles by propose a question such as in what manner us academia can distinguish well-explained from in-meaningful theories. First and foremost, theories in International Relations should consists of three basic components including logical consistency, falsifiable and provide an explanation to particular phenomenon. ‘A theory’s ability to explain is more important than its ability to predict’ (Waltz, 1997, p. 916). This meant that good theories should not merely present evidence to prove that certain event happen repeatedly from historical context. It is exceedingly important to justify and clarify why phenomenas occur. In addition, logical consistency illustrates whether theories and their suggestion work simultaneously or not. Whilst, falsifiable is under what condition can theories be applied and when they are incapable of identifying empirical event.