Influence of human beings on the world's ecosystem is leading to the extinction of species and loss of bio-diversity. What are the primary causes of loss of bio-diversity? What solutions can you suggest?

Even after knowing biodiversity’s importance man continues to harness it and by doing so leads the way to demise of many species of flora and fauna. This essay will examine the main causes and will provide solutions to the above mentioned problem. The major factor responsible for this is the exponential rise in the world’s population. More people means more requirement of land, hence felling down of trees for personal and commercial reasons destroys the natural habitats of animals, thus they have no where to go. Another element accountable for the issue is poaching and hunting. Elephants are killed for their tusks, deer are shot down for fun, one hunts cheetahs and tigers for one’s entertainment and then rugs are made out of their skin. For example, Dodo a bird became extinct by excessive hunting of the bird by the pirates. Harmful wastes released by factories into seas and rivers cause water pollution which affect the fish and plants living in them. Overexploitation of natural resources also contributes to the same. Excess burning of fossil fuels increases carbon dioxide due to which temperature increases which causes the end of many species. The Government should make stricter laws for poachers and hunters and should prohibit the multinational companies to release waste into waterbodies. Non-renewable energy sources should be replaced by renewable sources of energy like solar energy, tidal energy and hydro-energy. This will decrease the amount of CO2 produced, Awareness should be spread amongst the people in order to control the population. A number of campaigns should be planned. One individually should also plant trees. To conclude, humans must understand the necessity of the biodiversity and should not damage it and save it before it is too late.