Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

There has been increasing debate globally regarding environmental protection. Some people assert that only government officials and major companies can influence environmental related decisions, since individual persons are powerless to make such decisions. I agree with this viewpoint to a moderate extent. Government bodies have the power to create and implement policies that can have widespread influence on a community’s outcomes. For instance, the government in Japan has imposed strict regulations to prevent overfishing to ensure preservation of the marine environment. As a result, all Japanese fishermen are obligated to keep to these rules. Similarly, big companies are also at the optimal position to influence consumer choices as mass manufacturers of products. As an example, if they chose to produce products that are environmentally friendly, such as using biodegradable materials instead of plastic packaging, they can help to reduce waste at a mass level. These examples illustrate the sphere of influence that government officials and large companies have to improve our environment. On the other hand, I feel that every individual is also is capable of making conscious choice and taking steps to protect our environment. For example, if one chooses to use recyclable bags instead of disposable plastic bags, he or she can help to save over 100 plastic bags each year. People socialize often, and can influence others actions through modelling positive and environmentally conscious behaviours. Even though these actions may seem insignificant in the short term, the collective efforts can have a huge influence in time to come. In conclusion, I agree that the government and big companies exert strong influences on our environment wellness through executing policies, as well as through the manufacturing of environmentally friendly consumer products. However, I also believe that individuals have the capacity to exert personal choices and potentially influence their friends to protect the environment in the long-term trajectory.