INDIVIDUALS CAN DO NOTHING TO IMPROVE THE ENVIRONMENT ONLY GOVERNMENTS AND LARGE COMPANIES CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE

In the past few decades, our planet has gone through a tough streak of natural calamities. Global environmental problems impact every country at some point which begs the question of whether efforts of an individual are bold enough to make a difference compared to the initiatives taken by large corporations or governments. While it is easy to side with the former, every coin has two sides. Thus, it is important to examine both sides of the question before giving an opinion. On a closer observation of efforts made by an individual, recent studies prove that despite of having a smaller magnitude, it is the courage towards making a positive change that drives these projects to success. Each singleton has the capacity to lead many if he or she decides to take action in the right direction. For example, a waste collector's idea of recycling local plastic waste into garbage bins might not appeal to a larger audience, but it will improve community hygiene and cut costs for sanitation at a local level. From these small but consistent efforts, an individual inspires change and raises awareness among the society which big corporations would have to enforce. Alternatively, it is often argued that institutionalizing actions against climate issues leads to consistent approaches making it more effective. As authorities move towards firm decisions, large part of the population is enforced to move with the same vision. However, there always exists some blowback, enterprise changes efficiently place systems that could keep themselves in check which when compared to an individual might seem like a challenging task. As an instance, establishing water treatment plants at the outskirts of a city could be carried out easily if managed by the government or a company rather than a single volunteer. In conclusion, efforts of governments and enterprises against global environmental challenges would be far more practical and efficient than of an individual. In my opinion, fight against climate changes could be won if governments acted first rather than individuals reacting to them.