Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some people believe that in order to ease traffic congestion and pollution, the price of fossil fuel should be raised. Although I believe that it would help mitigate these problems partially, other steps such as transformation from hydrocarbons-based fuels to green energy might be more helpful. In today’s world, there is hustle and bustle everywhere contributed to mass usage of vehicles and fossil fuels, as a result more and more carbon dioxide is released which are toxic in nature, causing plethora of environmental issues. In order to curb this issue, hike in petrol prices may be helpful as it would make it hard for most of the people such as that of middle class to run their own cars on the roads and they will be forced to use public transport, consequently there would be less traffic congestion and low greenhouse gases emission. However, it is not the case for people with deep pockets as they can still afford costly fuels. In order to effectively lessen these problems, other measures may be effective. Fossil fuel is the main reason behind myriad of environmental problems. To reduce the consumption of such fuel, transforming current car engines from petrol to green energy would be much more effective than raising fuel’s price. According to recent study, the UK will replace all their petrol-based vehicles to electric ones by 2030, resultantly it would minimize their carbon emissions by 60 percent. Moreover, improving existing public transport system would also be instrumental in dealing with increased traffic and environmental issues. To conclude, traffic and environmental problems are on the rise because of the massive number of vehicles that runs on petrol. Although, an increase in fossil fuel price may lessen these problems, other methods such as conversion to green energy and enhancing public transport system could effectively improve the situation.