Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. What other measures do you think might be effective?

Environmental hazards are on a rise world-wide. Some believe that one of the best ways to control growing traffic and pollution is by increasing the price of petrol. I completely disagree with this statement. In this essay, I will illustrate reasons as to why a more effective transportation system and a mass awareness programs are more effective ways to address this issue. Government should invest more money on enhancing a robust transportation services for the public to avail. Every household today owns at least one or more two, four-wheeler vehicles as it has become affordable for many to purchase, adding to the overall traffic congestion and air pollution. Modern and high quality public commute services like buses, metro stations & railways with an efficient traffic control process can help mitigate the concerns for people to use them on a frequent basis. If not, most will end up getting their vehicles out for all purposes due to lack of better options. The public plays an important role in protecting the environment and educating them on the impact it will have on the planet is crucial. Spreading awareness will help in driving the mindset shift required to nuture the nature. For instance, Bangalore held a campaign few months ago on “Global warming long term effects on future generations” and showcased a strong message on the ways to curb pollution due to the emission of harmful gases and why it is crucial to use the public transportation services. It was a successful drive as it brought in a sense of responsibility to protect the nature. In conclusion, making the cost of fuel expensive might not be the ultimate step to curb traffic and pollution but the governement bodies need to build in a better transportation ecosystem to balance nature and the needs of the people. However, it is also vital for the public to positively contribute and collaborate to resist pollution and make it more conducive for future generations to live.