It is believed that people who read for pleasure develop their imagination more and acquire better language skills compared to people who prefer watching television.

Especially children often hear sentences like “while reading a book, you will extend both, your imagination and your language skill whereas, by watching television, you won´t extend it. I mostly agree with this opinion. While reading, you will only receive information about the outward appearance of the characters in a written way. Thus, you have to imagine how the character will look like. What kind of face does he or she have? How is he or she walking? All these things are given by a movie, but while reading, it is up to you. Furthermore, books, no matter if fantasy book or classics, such as Hamlett from Shakespeare, will increase the range of vocabulary and sentence structures. Especially by reading classics, the old-fashion language will be trained and thus, you can speak more eloquently. However, television has also its benefits. By watching TV, you can also learn some new vocabulary, especially if you are watching a movie in a foreign language and make use of subtitles. In this way, you can easily improve your skills concerning the oral comprehension of the language, but you also will now, how the word is written. Also, movies can show some actions or some creatures, that are beyond your horizon. Subsequently, you will also expand your imagination. To conclude, reading is solid and, according to my opinion, the best way to improve one´s language skills and fantasy. These skills are fundamental for life; thus, reading will make life in some ways easier. However, reading is not the only way, for some people, it is better to watch television. In the end, it is a personal decision and anybody has to consider, what suits oneself the best.