INCLUSION OF PHYSICAL EDUCATION IN SCHOOL CURRICULUM FOR ALL AGE SCHOOLS

Inclusion of Physical Education (P. E) classes in the school curriculum is considered an essential element of schooling for some people however others lay down greater emphasis on academic subjects for the students. It is pertinent to note that PE involves a variety of sporting and outdoor activities that help in the physical, emotional and mental wellbeing of the students. In contrast the knowledge of academic subjects improve the reasoning, logical and creative abilities of the student which proves beneficial for a successful career path. The school environment provides an opportunity to develop his or her extra-curricular skills along with the academic skillset. Human emotions such as anger, respect, teamwork and competitiveness can be appreciated and matured through regular PE classes. On the other hand, some parents might feel that PE classes might be a distraction from academic studies or a chance of exploitation for some students by the bullies in a school. In my opinion, PE classes have been a great source of inspiration for my mental and emotional development. Whenever I used to participate in cricket or footballing events I was highly motivated to compete, win or give my best for my team. In modern times there is a greater need for PE classes because our children play indoor video games and consume unhealthy food causing obesity and lack of exercise leading to various diseases such as cancer, blood pressure and Diabetes. Even though some people may consider PE classes less advantageous for the career but the physical and mental training through PE classes can open up endless possibilities for a prosperous future.