In today's fast developing world, drug abuse is not only one of the burning issue but also an alarming one. Unfortunately, many teenagers and children are falling prey to it. Few social scientists believe that it is the bad influence that children acquire either from their parents or from the sociecty they live in as a reason for drug addiction. This essay details causes and effects on the usage of drugs by young people.

To begin with, it is an undeniable fact that the child habits are often affected either in a good or bad way depending upon the parent's habits. According to a survey conducted by AIMS medical society in order to study psychology of children, the results revealed that children acquire habits from their surrounding people. So, parents and society definitely have a strong influence on a child's mindset. If the peers with whom child lives with has a habit for smoking, consuming excessive alcohol or some banned substances like drugs etc. Children tend to get attracted to it and even they start consuming it. Thus, peers will be setting a bad example to young people. There could be devastating effect to a child's future because of these kinds of problems. Child's future could be destroyed by getting addicted to drugs. For example, recently few students from Karnataka were prisoned for consuming and forcing others to consume drugs. This is a very bad effect to their future and if the habit of consuming drugs is not stopped by them, it can even lead to death. To fight drugs parents and the government are responsible. Most of the accountability lies on the shoulders of parents to protect and guide children from the bad influence that he or she may be affected by. Parents can set an example of their lives to young people, provided they follow good habits themselves. But government also plays a role in this by making stricter laws and punishing the bad influencers. To conclude, drug addiction is a growing issue all over the world and it should be taken seriously. Society as well as government should combine to counter this problem effectively. Thus, young generations can be protected from this menace.