In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

While in the past years undergraduate students were prone to study in their country, nowadays it is more common to study abroad. Studying in a foreign state could be advantageous especially for job’s opportunities, even if some drawbacks occour. On the one hand, going to a foreign university can affect positively student’s life. Firstly, young people become more indipendent and selfsufficient. In fact they have to organise their daily activities in order to be effective in their courses. Secondly, being abroad gives the chance to learn second language. In other words, the young develop new linguistic skills, which are very important to improve their ability of communication. Thirdly, it is also an excellent experience to add to curriculum vitae. In the job market, where the competition is very high, it could be a good point for the first employment. On the other hand, some disadvantages should not be forgotten. in studying in a foreign state. One critical problem is the lack of the family support. In fact undergraduate students are young at their first experience out of protected environment of the family. This could determine a sense of isolation and frustration of students and therefore affects their study’s performances. Another obstacles is the barrier of the language. Becoming bilingual is a demanding process and so more frusation can increase together with unsuccessful performances at university. In conclusion, although this development of higher education couses benefits also disadvantages can occour such as the lack of family network