In the past, when student did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

There has been a global trend for student to study abroad to pursue their further study. In the recent times, a lot of graduate students go to abroad for their higher study rather than studying in their own country because of more opportunities. This essay will analyze numerous merits and demerits of studying in other nations. To embark on, there are various benefits that the student can have while learning in other countries. Firstly, student can have greate choice of studying different subject like cybersecurity, Aeronatical engineering, chemical engineering because many developing countries like Nepal there are limited course offered in the universities, and student have no choice to study what they are wanting to study. Many countries has spend a lot of money establishing research centre where student can enhance their skill and create new innovation. Later on these skill can be utilize in their own country, which will have direct benefit to the nations. For instance, social activists Dr. Mahabir Pun who studied in America, is the founder of innovation centre in Nepal enable many younger generation to engage in innovation and generate employment opportunites for student who are curious in technical field. Furthermore, student get chance to meet other student form differ socio-background, and can exchange knowledge which will broaden their horizon. Moreover, there is lot of competation in international level, which motivate student to study hard and get success in their career. On the other hand, there are numerous demerits of studying abroad. They are more influence by western culture and tradition and they tend to forgot their own culture, tradition, norms and value. Furthermore, they are more likely to involve in different crimainal activities like murder, drug intake because they are away form home, and free from parents. In addition, countries will lose active manpower and youth, which will hamper the development of nation because young generation are the one who has great responsibility to develop their nation. Many parents has send their children abroad in the hope that after completion of study they will return back to home and serve their country, but they never come back and live their whole life, as a result, less number of youth in country. For instance, around 20% of student go abroad every year to study after completion of their study they apply for permanent resident and settle down their. In conclusion, knowledge they get while studying abroad can be utilize for their career at the same time lack of active manpower hamper nations progression.