In the past, most people used to travel to their workplaces. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Now-a-days, people are working from homes instead of travelling to their workplaces, due to increase in usage of technology such as computers and other devices that are connected to internet. This essay will discuss both the positives and the negatives of this trend. On one hand, massive spike in productivity is the major advantage. As employees work from home they are prone to fewer distractions, they take minimum breaks during work hours and hence, deliver good quality product in minimum time. Additionally, we can also observe a decrease in pollution levels and traffic congestions in metropolitan areas due to reduction in usage of private vehicles to commute to workplace. A recent study states that, productivity of employess as increased by 20% and air pollution has decreased by 10% as a result of this shift. On the other hand, lack of effective training is the major drawback. As people are working from remote areas, it is becoming nearly impossible to provide advance training to the staff who are positioned in different hierarchies, due to problems such as improper technology or poor connectivity. Moreover, stress is a by-product of this trend, as employers are demanding to extend work hours. Workday Inc, published a report stating that, stress levels are increasing day by day, as people are being forced to work for 10-12 hours instead of mandatory 8 hours. To conclude, increase in productivity is a major advantage of working from home, but it is necessary that they provide good technology and standard work hours, so that the workers continue the job without getting stressed.