In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

The more digitally equipped the world is becoming, the more it is easy to do work from home for employees. Firstly, this essay will explore the positive impact of working from domestic places and then will look into its negative impact. As the technology is progressing, it is replacing the manual work and computer has already ate the paper-work. It is not only limited to computers and laptops but has introduced a gadget called smartphone too. With arrival of internet, networking is feasible irrespective of the location and time-zones. Skype, Zoom, Cisco Webex etc types video call facility has diminished the need of real face-to-face meetings. These advancements are fully leveraged by almost all IT companies and non-IT as well up to many extent. In fact, they themselves offer their workers to do work from home because this will reduce the cost to company as they do not have to lease a building on rent for providing office area. Also, the daily travel expense of both employees and companies has minimized. Less travelling means less vehicles on road and therefore, less air pollution with extra fuel consumption. Working parents can take care of their children as their commute time become non-existent. However, there is always an other side of the coin. Prevailing work from home can lead to dysfunctional office work culture where colleagues interact with each other. One scientific research has suggested that interaction improves manyfolds when it is done in real environment instead of virtual. On top of that, although, travel is better for environment, but bad for economic growth as less currency would exchange hands. In addition to it, body movements of employees shrink and could bring diseases which are either mentally or physically. In conclusion, I believe working at home has downsides but its benefits outweigh the negative aspects. Companies should encourage this and try to curb its disadvantages as much as possible.