Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the topic of gender has harbored into people’s daily conversation. With the university application deadlines nearing their way, the question becomes more prominent: should universities accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject? I hold the view that this idea is not ideal as it promotes injustice within the system. Firstly, accepting equal numbers of male and female students in every subject does not present equal opportunity in terms of skills and interest, but rather, of gender. For instance, if there were more female than male applicants, the probability of acceptance of a qualified female applicant would be lower than that of an unqualified male applicant, and vice versa. This means that the importance of capability as a determining factor of acceptance would be greatly reduced, hence, being unfair to those with potential. Additionally, it is unsuitable for universities to implement such policy seeing as it would result in an imbalance of knowledge between students. Case in point would be if the number of male applicants greatly exceeded the number of female applicants, and most of the female applicants were incompetent, then there would be more incompetent female students than male ones, and vice versa. This would further promote gender inequality because when students lack prior knowledge, they would find it difficult in catching up with the subject. Past studies have shown that university scores play a major role in the students’ success in their career life, therefore, proving that the flawed idea that institutions are to accept identical number of male and female students in every subject is ineffective. In conclusion, despite arguments that state how gender inequality could be improved if universities accepted the same amount of female and male applicants, the same circumstance may even bring more injustice because it does not account for the skills, interest, and knowledge of applicants.