In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work, and communicate online without any face-to-face contact with other people. Is it a positive or negative development?

Although for many centuries face-to-face communication between people has been the main way of their interaction, it is now possible to minimize personal contact and do everything online. Chatting only online, people can interact despite the distance between them and protect themselves from contagious diseases, but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account. Firstly, one benefit for people interacting online is the possibility to have a conversation with each other living in different parts of the world. Thus, the Internet shortens the distance between people in a figurative way, making communication accessible for almost everyone irrespective of the location and no matter where. Secondly, the current pandemic is also fostering online communication and e-commerce. For almost a year people have been advised to stay at home and for those who are at risk, shopping and chatting on the Internet is one of the few ways to be in touch with the outside world. On the other hand, expressing emotion face to face has a substantially larger meaning than attempting to express emotion through texts or chats. Sarcasm, for instance, is often immensely difficult to express in writing, while in personal contact, a person's intention to speak ironically might be obvious enough. In addition, sometimes online interaction can be unsafe and even harmful to someone's health. Many studies support the fact that with the advent of social media, adolescents have become more anxious and more vulnerable to various psychological disorders. Also, the widespread occurrence of such phenomena as cyberbullying and cybercrime are important arguments against transitioning towards only online communication. In conclusion, while people can benefit from shopping and chatting online, it also can lead to some serious consequences like the lack of emotional exchange or the loss of money due to cyber fraud