In the future, robots and other forms of artificial intelligence may do the majority of the work that humans do today. Do you think the advantages of this would outweigh the disadvantages?

It is said that the majority of work that human does today will be done by robots in near future. Although the androids can have increased productivity for industries, I strongly feel the benefits of this do not outweigh the drawbacks as unemployment will also be high. The prominent benefit of artificial intelligence is rise in the productivity of an organisation. This is so because, the programmed machinery can work for more hours when compared to limited time that a person can work, so the production levels can be increased as per demand. For instance, Adidas employed a software programmed machinery that can put specified colour on shoes made the organisation to produce more shoes as it can be run for more than 18 hours day. However, the advancement of artificial intelligence has adverse effects on people’s jobs. The biggest ramification that robots can have is increased unemployment. Artificial intelligence has the ability to perform the same work that multiple people can do which results in organisations choosing robots to replace men and women in their workforce. As a result of this, unemployment among people will prevail to a greater extent. For example, the automated self-checkout computers in many supermarkets have replaced checkout cashiers as they alleviate the organisations payroll from having more employees leaving many cashiers with no job to support themselves. In conclusion, although the artificial intelligence benefits industries to have more production in less time, I firmly believe the unemployment that they create will outweigh its advantages.