In some cultures, children are often told that thry can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving the children this message?

Children tend to follow everything that they are told. In few traditions, young people are frequently taught that, working hard without quitting can make them attain anything. Personally, I believe children must be made aware of all the possibilities for being successful. This essay will discuss about the merits and demrits of providing children the above mentioned message. First of all, teaching children about hardwork will motivate them to try different things. In other words, this tend to improve the possitive thoughts in children and they might become an optimist in the future. If they realized that hardwork never fails, they would not hesitate about trying again and again. In addition, working hard not only makes them active and healthy but also make them believe in themselves, which is the basic quality of a person who never quits. On contrary, frequently insisting them to try hard might lead them to depression. In fact, some children may go very hard on oneself to the extent that they might not even sleep for days. Consequently this will lead to huge detrimental effects on their health. For instance, few children despite studying hard failed to get good scores in exams. This is because they understood the term hard working in a very different way which made them think they should study without taking a break. To conclude, it is important to teach young people the exact way of hard working otherwise they might misunderstood it and act in way which may affect their physical and mental health. Even though, there are some cons, the advantages of a child knowing about never quitting until succeeding outweights the demerits. I think, if we could teach them clearly about the importance of hard work and never giving up, we would eliminate the negative impacts.