In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Recently taking a gap year to acquire experience by working and making journey before pursuing higher education has become an uprising trend all around the world. This essay will discuss its merits and demerits in the following paragraphs. After completing high school the prospect of pupils traveling or working gives them great experience in terms of regarding life with the glasses of the understanding that the taken gap year gives them. Getting loaded with many knowledge in school, pupils’ need of applying of the learnt theory as practice in real life can be meet by the experience for example meeting new people at work or getting to know new cultures and different views of life in a journey. This can be beneficial in terms of their career because many companies now hire more people who have job or travel history. On the other hand there are some drawbacks of this situation. Since not all people are the same, having a year off to travel or work before the university can distract some young persons from continuing their academic life due to the glamour of this adventure, and getting a job before having an occupational training may seem easy for them. For this reason, this kind of an experience could turn into a disadvantage. To conclude, taking a gap year in the name of obtaining experience in life has two sides. It can be both profitable by obtaining good position in their career and detrimental if they stop continuing their education.