Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The number of car owners has significantly increased over the past three decades; as a result, many cities today suffer from traffic congestion. This statement is definitely true because now, unlike 30 years ago, a vehicle is something vital that everyone needs to have. In order to reduce the number of car owners government can develop public transport facilities and encourage people to use them. Nowadays, many people depend on their cars. Because of an accelerated pace of life, especially in big cities, a lot of people try to do as many tasks as they can, and therefore, time that they spend in the road is very essential for them. As a way to achieve that, these people try to decrease this time by using personal vehicles, and it results in heavy traffic that exists in many megalopolises. For example, in Los Angeles there are more vehicles than city dwellers, and, because of that, it will take at least 3 hours to cross the city. A developed public transport system is the best remedy to reduce the number of cars on the roads. Car ownership entails a lot of expenses, such as insurance, petrol cost and repair. Therefore, if people can easily get to any destination within their settlement, they would eagerly use a bus instead of a personal car. For instance, 75% of Copenhagen citizens use local transport rather than a car because it’s cheaper and more convenient. In conclusion, with a bigger number of people who have a car, traffic congestion have become a serious problem in cities all over the world, and local officials can solve this problem by improved public transportation service.