In some countries people are now buying fewer new things and buying more second hand things instead In your opinion what are some possible reasons for this Is this a positive or negative trend

Nowadays, there is a trend of consumption more second-hand things rather than new items. People do this for various reasons and I strongly believe this is a positive trend. Firstly, there are some people who buy second-hand items for the reasons of economy. For example, citizens of third world countries or indigent migrants in developed countries, who cannot afford to buy new things, can buy old ones, and, consequently, save a lot of money. This is particularly relevant to parents, who often have to buy their children clothes because children grow out of clothes very quickly. Secondly, another category of people who buy second-hand goods includes lovers vintage outfits, crockery and household items. Such people take immense pleasure in purchasing antiques or old-fashioned items. Finally, there are those who are concerned about environment protection and avoid buying a lot of new things in order not to contribute to overproduction and to reduce their carbon footprint. I strongly believe that buying second-hand items is an extremely positive trend. Obviously, we have already produced a lot of stuff: clothes, shoes, household items. Those items can be used for many years instead of new ones being produced. To begin with, manufacturing of new products requires a lot of water, energy and raw materials. Therefore, consumption of old stuff reduces manufacturing of new stuff and saves our valuable natural resources. Another issue with purchasing new items is that it is necessary to dispose of those people do not want any longer. Thrown away items decay in dumps and pollute our environment. Reusing second-hand items reduces the amount of waste on our planet. In conclusion, whatever reasons for this pattern of consumption people have, in my opinion, it leads to better ecological awareness and more conscious use of resources.