In some countries people are increasingly suffering from health problems caused by fast food. Some people suggest governments should impose higher taxes on fast food. To what extent do you agree with this arguement?

In some countries food related health problems are on the rise due to excessive consumption of fast food. Some people argue that, government should impose higher taxes on fast food. Personally, I totally agree with this arguement, and in this essay, I will outline two reasons why I favour higher taxes. First and foremost, increasing taxes will increase food prices. As taxes are raised, fast food chains will be forced to increase the price of their products. As a consequence of price hike, individuals will less likely eat these kind of food items. For example, in Nepal, the government raised taxes on tobacco products by 50%. As a result, more than 60% of smokers tried to quit smoking. Hence, increase in price of anything demotivates the people to consume them. Secondly, the tax money can be spent on health care. As the tax increases, governments will have more funds to spend on civil well being. Since, food related health problems are on the rise, this extra tax money can be spent to improve health care system. For example, increased funding for health care will also improve the process of diagonosis and treatment, which will result in healthier population. In conclusion, imposing higher taxes can help increase funding for services that help to improve everyone's quality of life. All in all, I strongly believe that increasing taxes on fast food will benefit everyone. Firstly increased prices will discourage people to continue eating unhealthy food. Secondly, increased tases can help to improve health care system by increasing funding. We will have a healthy life, if we become conscious about what we eat.