In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why is this the case?

In some countries, people see owning a home as a critical fact rather than renting one. There are several reasons cause this phenomenon which vary from personal to cultural values. Although each one's value must be respected, we need to be aware of some negative situations this belief might bring. Generally, having own home is considered an outstanding achievement in many countries, especially in some cultures. For instance, in South Korea, where it has an intense 'shame and honour' culture, How other people think about them is significant. As a result, the house's size and location are considered indications of one's wealth. Besides, when one has ownership of the house, there is freedom in changing the house interior and decoration without much restriction. Also, owning the place can give people emotional comfort, knowing that they have a safe place. Despite all these reasons, it is vital to be aware that some downsides of this belief can generate further social issues in family or society. Firstly, if people's life goal is solely on owning a house, they can lose the true meaning of life. To put it another way, it can blind them to become overly obsessed with the materials and change their character greedy. Secondly, it can create the tendency of valuing others by other's house and wealth in society, though no one should be judged with one's possession. To conclude, obtaining property ownership can be an important goal for someone's life, which might be a dream that can provide a sense of security and accomplishment. Nonetheless, the belief itself should not be replaced to the true meaning of life and purpose. Also, we need to be aware that an individual's real estate status should not become a means of judgement in our society.