: In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Shopping market has grown tremendously over the years. With the advent of new shopping malls opening up many customers tend to visit the mall instead of the local shops. In my opinion this is a positive development. This essay with discuss some of the reasons of why going to a shopping mall is a positive development in my nation. Shopping centers or malls cater to a larger population because of the different services it offers. Usually a mall will have a movie theatre where people can go watch a movie, restaurants where people can eat food and shopping outlets where people can shop. It is basically like a one stop destination where you can do a plethora of things. For example, In my country, during the weekends, people mostly plan their day out by going to the mall. In this way they can shop in the evening, get dinner at a restaurant and then go watch a movie. On the other hand, in previous years when we did not have a mall or large shopping centers, we had to go to local shops with only one purpose which is shopping, if you wanted to watch a movie you had to travel another 30-40 mins to get to a theatre. This is time-consuming and inconvenient for many people. Apart from the variety of services offered by the mall, it also offers different types of shopping. For example, a mall will have an electronic store as well as a clothing store whereas local shops will be specific to a certain category which is either electronics or clothes. Although, closing down of unique local shops that represent the culture and heritage of the region would be a negative development and such shops should be preserved at all times. Interestingly these local shops could rent a space in the mall which would help them attract more customers. In my opinion, customers travelling to large shopping centers or malls is a positive development. This essay outlines few of the plausible reasons for calling it a positive development and also proposes a possible alternative for the local shops to move to the malls which would help them attract more customers.