In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Certainly, there are countries which to be an owner of a house is a trend that predominant more than to be a renter. I think that have a home is more positive than negative. Let me explain more about this issue. First of all, owning a home is a goal of life for many people. I think this aspect is connected with our culture as a Chileans because for much time (in previous years) the population did not have any access or facilities to buy a house. But, as time has gone by, people have had more opportunities for getting a home. Nowadays, however, people need to save a large amount of money to have a living place. As a result, It could be a long process, because is necessary to be constant and, sometimes (even my experience) people must stop spending money in other propose than could not be a priority. It might be a negative situation. On the other hand, as far as I concerned, invert in an owning home is an inversion for the future. For example, as a hypothetical situation, If I did not have any place where I live (when I will be 80 years old), I would get rent a home. As a consequence, I should spend a lot of my salary as a retired. Also, (in this country at least) is extremely difficult has an decent old age, owing to pensions do not allow to live comfortably. Thus, I think that could be a terrible decision never have thought before in these horrible repercussions. In conclusion, I believe that obtaining a home is a very relevant aim for some people. Therefore, I think that is an important objective to get.