In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work?

Schooling is an important phase in a child’s life and plays a pivotal role in their overall development. In some European countries, some young children study practical skills in schools that will help them to secure a job in the future; however, others prefer schools providing a more generalized academic education. This essay will discuss the steps schools can take to prepare students for their career. Indeed, the overall structure of the building matters, but a strong foundation is what holds the building tall in the future. At a tender age, schools should focus on the overall academic development of the children and not on getting them job-ready. For example, communication classes should be made compulsory for high school students so that they develop an inquisitive personality. At the age of 11 or 13, children are too young to understand the needs of the job market and instilling practical skills in them will only pressurise their young minds. Furthermore, schools can initiate corporate training programs like internships for higher classes and promote learning through recreation for younger children. For instance, lectures by company heads can be arranged to give first hand experiences to high school students who are getting ready for the workplace. Perhaps, through interactive games, younger children can be taught life skills like team work that they will use throughout their lives. In a nut-shell, this essay discussed the various steps schools can take to prepare the students for the corporate world. Teachers must make sure the focus of young children is on academic learning and as they reach higher classes, more emphasis can be laid on getting them job ready. Through an adequate mix of life skills teaching and vocational training programs, schools can produce job-ready individuals.