In Some Countries, Criminal Trials Are Shown On Television For Public. Do The Advantages Of This Outweigh The Disadvantages

Showing on the depicting criminal trials to the general public on the television is increasingly prevalent in some countries. In my view, the drawback of it far outweighs the advantages because not only does it give an opportunity to the criminals to escape away, but also such trials label the innocent as a culprit. Admittedly, there are numerous benefits to airing such trials. Firstly, it makes the general public aware of fine and sentences for a specific crime. To illustrate, in the USA, the live show for breaking traffic rules broadcasts on the television in order to know its citizens the type of punishment and the amount of fines for not following the traffic laws. Thus, people will be careful before breaking the rules. Secondly, legal proceeding will be faster. In a country like India, it has very slow proceeding system and it almost takes years to get justice, however, such airing of trials enables people to demand faster judicial system. Hence, people do have to wait a longer period of time having justice. Nonetheless, showing criminal trials on the television has many disadvantages. One of them is labelled culprit to innocent. Through such trials, many news channels or journalist takes the wrong benefit by printing untrue information about that person to get TRP. For instance, there are the chances where society does not accept the person who has not committed a crime if such shows are aired on the television, which might affect them mentally and socially. As a result, it can have a detrimental effect on their lifetime career. Another negative is an idea of getting released. Such shows offer a chance to criminals to do crime and get release easily, which means they are able to make good use of crime for their own sake and get easily free, which is unethical. In conclusion, although citizens tend to be cautious of doing any crime by watching a criminal trial on the television, I believe that wrong labelling and releasing from the jail, despite attempting crime are inevitable drawbacks which can have a detrimental effect on the lives of people.