IN SOME COUNTRIES AN INCREASING NUMBER OF PEOPLE ARE SUFFERING FROM HEALTH PROBLEMS AS A RESULT OF EATING TOO MUCH FAST FOOD. IT IS THEREFORE NECESSARY FOR GOVERNMENTS TO IMPOSE A HIGHER TAX ON THIS KIND OF FOOD. TO WHAT AN EXTENT

Fast food has become a staple in some countries because it is cheap and convenient; however there is an alarming increase in the number of people who are suffering from ailments resulting from eating a lot of take-aways. I strongly agree that the state must impose higher taxes on fast food. This essay will explore the necessity for governments to impose exhorbitant tarrifs on fast food. Health problems related to fast food can be reduced by introducing higher taxes. A higher tax means that the producers will have to pass on the cost to consumers making the product expensive. Fast food is elastic in demand; the higher the price, the lesser the demand. It remains attractive because it is cheap thus, an increase in price will reduce demand therefore reducing consumption. This then will reduce the health problems associated with eating fast food. For example in Zimbabwe, the government introduced a tax called sin tax on luxury food items and fast food. Within six months of introduction the prices of fast food sky rocketed and consumption decreased by seventy percent. Three major fast food outlets in the country closed as a result of the sin tax. Tax gained from fast food can be used for research purposes. The government can use the tax to aid research healthier and convenient food that does not lead to health problems. Most people find it difficult to make home cooked meals because they can be expensive or they do not have enough time which is why they resort to fast food. Food and beverage companies can benefit from subsidies from the state funded by tax on fast food to develop healthier options. The canada research institute has already come up with a low cost two minute noodle which is a healtheir option than traditional fatty fast food. This project was fully funded by the state. Any increase in the susbidy from a tax from fast food can increase the presence of the two minute noodle on the market. In conclusion, it is necessary for the government to impose higher taxes on fast food because this increases the prices and reduces consumption this reducing the health problems associated with fast food. Taxes can also be used to fund research on healtheir and convenient meals.