In some countries an increasing number of children are overweight as a result of eating too much fast food. It is necessary for governments to ban selling this kind of food in schools. with this opinion?

These days the problem of obesity is increasing at an alarming rate, not just in adults, but it can be seen in children too. Along with many other reasons, availability of fast food in school canteens could be one of the causes. I agree that governments must help by intervening; despite this measure, I don't believe a long-term solution can be found to the issue at hand. In school, children spend their most critical years, the growing age. So, this is where they should be provided with all the good things, and healthy food is as important as any other facilities offered by the school. Junk food like burgers, fries, and the like should be banned from schools, and healthy food should not be just an option. In fact, if started at an early age, children would inculcate the right food habits in them, and not have to learn it at a later stage in their lives. However, this onus can not be only on the government and schools alone, parents must also help children with this awareness outside of school. With increasing demand for fast food, today, it is available just about everywhere. Above all we choose to eat it at home too. This is where the adults need to set an example. Children need to be made aware that junk food is not a correct choice for a healthy lifestyle. At home, with guidance from parents, a child must learn to acquire taste for home-cooked meals, salads, and fresh fruits. Consequently, when the young ones will step out independently, they will make a healthy decision even when fast food would be available at every nook and cranny. To conclude, although I agree that government must restrict schools from allowing availability of fast food in the school cafeteria, the responsibility must be shared by parents as well. In a nutshell, being overweight in children is becoming a serious problem, therefore important measures must be taken. A simple step of making children aware of the dangers of obesity can be the right place to begin.