Studies show that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison so they could get a good job once they are released. with this statement?

Researchers have consistently shown a positive correlation between a person’s level of education and their likelihood of committing a crime. The lower one’s education level, the higher the probability that this person will be sent to prison at some point. Even though I agree that encouraging education is the answer, education whilst in prison is unlikely to fully solve the problem. It is clear that education discourages people from becoming involved in illegal activities. For example, research in the UK shows that many criminals do not have the skills and training to work in a profession, which means that they struggle to earn money and may be forced to commit crimes by these circumstances. In contrast, most jobs requiring special training provide a good standard of living, and thus remove a major incentive to do anything illegal. When is the best time to provide education? People in prison have already committed a crime. While helping them to acquire the knowledge for a profession while serving their sentence is important for their future, the best result that such an approach can achieve is to keep them from reoffending. I believe the ultimate goal of our society is to deter people from doing something illegal in the first place. In order to achieve this, the government should provide free education to people from underprivileged backgrounds, which would enable them to learn the skills necessary for a profession and prevent them from heading down the criminal path. To conclude, I agree that educating people and training them for a profession would help to prevent many from committing crimes; however, providing accessible education before one becomes a criminal would be more effective than waiting for them to go to prison.