Not enough students around the world choose to study science subjects at university. What are the reasons for this? What impact does this issue have on society?

Recently a steady decline can be observed in number of student opting to study science subjects at the universities. In past these were chosen as majors by many but nowadays very few take it up. Of the main reasons which can be attributed to this can be that over the years these intense subjects have been mostly taken up by men as compared to women. Mainly in the fileds of reaserch and development it was pursued by men ans a domination over women can be seen. As a result the women who were really keen in science also got slowly drifted away from the main stream. With this scenario in place they chose to proceed with social science subjects and preferred to have a career in this field. Subjects like humanities, arts were chosen over science and the outcome is quite clear in today’s worldwith a number of NGO’s, creative clubs being run by women. Another reason that can be associated to this reducing number is that sometimes it’s difficult to get a high paid job. Most of the students these days prefer to pursue higher educationa keeping in mind a career, which can pay them well in their respective professional lives. As not many high paid jobs are avaialble in science stream, the students opt of alternative career paths. As a result we can see a rise in number of engineers, doctors, lawyers and quite a few them are left employed. Society with a positive outlook can help women to realize their existing potential and utilize their skills, talents which will be very helpful to the field of science as well as humanity. We all know what wonders can a women bring about, don’t we? Apart from this restructuring the pay scale in jobs might help in bringing the students to take up science subjects.