In recent years, more and more people are using e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

A growing number of people are using e-books more than traditional paper-based books. Although the electronic version saves money, in the long run, it may harm our eyesight. However, I believe that there are more advantages than disadvantages. Reading from an e-book may affect our eyes. The gadget that we use to view the book emits harmful rays, which may harm the eyes. A recent study conducted by a university in California reveals that almost 80% of the individuals who preferred reading from an e-book instead of a paper-based book had eyes related issues later in their life. Besides, older people who do not know to use smartphones and laptops find traditional book reading habits more convenient. Because of this reason, some people prefer real books to digital books. Nowadays, books have become far more expensive than they used to be in the past. The electronic version saves people's money. For instance, most of the books are now available on the internet for free. So instead of spending money on buying the hard copy, people can download it from the internet. Also, most people are busy working the entire day, so the electronic version will allow them to read a book whenever they have free time. There is no need to carry the paper book wherever they go and can just read it on their electronic devices, anytime they wish. In conclusion, I think that the benefits of e-books outweigh few drawbacks because electronic books require less effort. An international book that is not available locally is easy to access on the internet.