In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays umpteen small-scale homegrown shops have shut down owing to the movement of shoppers to bigger malls and shopping complexes. This does more harm than good to our overall development and we shall discuss the same below. The customers transitioning to huge shopping areas is advantageous. This is mainly due to the fact that numerous international brands have set shop in our domestic premises. With them, they bring international infrastructure and marketing ideas which quickly can spillover to our local retailers. This can enhance the bottom line of small shops to a certain degree. Contrastingly, with the arrival of international shops comes the dwindling of homegrown brands. For the shoppers prefer former over the latter. On taking a closer look, we can see that this has reflected badly in our economy. The more the home shops decrease the more people go out of jobs. Hence, unemployment has become increasingly common and soon the situation would be dire. Besides that, owners of small businesses have involved in protests in recent times. For example, in 2019 there was a nation-wide silent protest by the small-scale business owners pleading the government to disapprove the arrival of merchandises and other items from abroad. All local stores were closed indefinitely resulting in an overall decline of sales and low tax income to the government. The governing bodies were forced to mitigate the issue. In conclusion, albeit larger multiplexes for shopping bring some benefits with them such as marketing strategy spillover the disadvantages do outweigh the former. Unemployment and impedance to shoppers and government do need closer attention.